Main Content
Release date: 
June 29, 2013
Release Number: 
DR 4117 NR013

OKLAHOMA CITY – Disaster assistance for Oklahoma now tops $25 million as recovery continues following the devastating May tornadoes, straight-line winds, severe storms and flooding.

Nearly 13,000 households in nine designated counties have applied for individual assistance from the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) following the storms May 18 through June 2. The counties designated for individual assistance are Canadian, Cleveland, LeFlore Lincoln, McClain, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Oklahoma and Pottawatomie. 


  • More than $10.4 million in disaster assistance under the Individuals and Households Program has been approved for qualified homeowners and renters. This includes more than $7.3 million in Housing Assistance and more than $3.1 million in Other Needs Assistance.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved over $15 million in low-interest disaster loans for qualified homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private nonprofit organizations.
  • More than 8,000 people have visited four mobile registration intake centers and six disaster recovery centers to get information and to apply for disaster assistance. For updates on locations and hours, go to http://asd.fema.gov/inter/locator/.
  • More than 21,000 have been approved for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. Nearly 60 people have filed claims with Workforce Oklahoma Center. For more information, call 800-555-1554.
  • OEM and FEMA have received 53 requests for Public Assistance from applicants—such as tribes, state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in five counties originally designated for Public Assistance funding for debris removal and emergency protective measures. Those counties are now eligible for all categories of permanent work.  A June 28 amendment to the disaster declaration also added Atoka, Canadian, Coal, Hughes, Latimer, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pushmataha and Seminole counties for both emergency and permanent work categories.
  • As of June 27, disaster-damaged communities have cleared out more than 517,469 cubic yards of disaster debris. Officials estimate there were more than 900,000 cubic yards of debris. Working together as part of a joint task force, OEM and FEMA continue to work with local officials to address the removal of disaster debris.  
  • The Disaster Recovery Center at East Side Church of Christ, 916 S. Douglas Street. Midwest City, Oklahoma will be open until June 30, 2013 at 5 p.m. You can visit a disaster recovery center by going to http://1.usa.gov/10OHluF.

To Apply For Disaster Assistance

Homeowners, renters and business owners in Canadian, Cleveland, LeFlore, Lincoln, McClain, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee and Pottawatomie counties who sustained damage from the May 18-June 2 storms can apply for state and federal assistance online at DisasterAssistance.gov or via smartphone at m.fema.gov.

Survivors may also apply by phone at 800-621-3362 (Voice or 7-1-1/ Relay) or TTY 800-462-7585. For information about SBA programs, applicants may call 800-659-2955 (TTY 800-877-8339).

For more information on Oklahoma disaster recovery, click fema.gov/disaster/4117 or visit the OEM site at oem.ok.gov.


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) prepares for, responds to, recovers from and mitigates against emergencies and disasters. The department delivers service to Oklahoma cities, towns and counties through a network of more than 350 local emergency managers.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/#!/femaregion6 and the FEMA Blog at http://blog.fema.gov.



Last Updated: 
June 29, 2013 - 11:17
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top