Federal disaster declared for spring 2013 floods - Federal Public and Individual Assistance activated for flood-affected Alaskans

Main Content
Release date: 
June 28, 2013
Release Number: 

On Tuesday, June 25, President Obama approved Alaska Governor Sean Parnell’s request for Federal Assistance in the disaster affected areas of the Alaska Gateway, Yukon Flats, Yukon Koyukuk, and Lower Yukon Regional Attendance Areas, with Copper River Regional attendance area for Public Assistance only. The Federal Disaster Declaration makes federal funds and resources available to support the recovery of these areas affected by the 2013 Spring Floods.

The Federal Assistance programs offer help to individuals and families affected by the disaster, as well as funds to assist the state, tribal, and affected local governments with infrastructure damages and costs incurred during the response and recovery from the floods.

Based on eligibility, Individual Assistance includes many different programs to help individuals and families affected by the floods including:

  • Temporary housing.
  • Grants to repair or replace personal property and help meet medical, dental, funeral, transportation and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other federal, state and charitable aid programs.  
  • Unemployment assistance benefits.
  • Low-interest loans to cover residential losses not fully compensated by insurance. 
  • Loans for small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives and most private, non-profit organizations.
  • Loans for farmers, ranchers and aquaculture operators to cover production and property losses, excluding primary residence. 
  • Other relief programs: Crisis counseling assistance for those traumatized by the disaster; income tax assistance for filing casualty losses; advisory assistance for legal, veterans’ benefits and social security matters.

Those in the area designated for assistance to affected individuals and business owners can begin the disaster application process by registering online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or by web enabled mobile device at m.fema.gov.  Disaster assistance applicants, who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice. Applicants registering for aid should be prepared to provide basic information about themselves (name, permanent address, phone number), insurance coverage and any other information to help substantiate losses.

FEMA is working to set up a Joint Field Office (JFO) in conjunction with the State of Alaska Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Management (DHS&EM) to begin recovery efforts for the communities. More information at: www.DisasterAssistance.gov and ready/alaska.gov

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
September 4, 2013 - 12:38
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top