Main Content

Fifteen Illinois Counties Added for Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 14, 2013
Release Number: 
4116-IL NR-051

AURORA, Ill. – Fifteen additional Illinois counties are now eligible for FEMA’s Public Assistance (PA) program as part of the federal disaster declaration for severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding during the period of April 16 to May 5.

This eligibility means that cities, counties, and certain private nonprofit organizations can apply for reimbursement for eligible costs incurred during the spring severe weather. Categories of eligible work that may be funded by FEMA are debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair or replacement of roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities, and parks and recreational facilities.

This brings to 39 the total number of Illinois counties designated for PA. The counties (new counties are bold faced) are Adams, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Clark, Crawford, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Will and Woodford.

PA is a cost-sharing program with FEMA paying 75 percent. The remainder is the responsibility of the state and local governments.

Federal Hazard Mitigation funding for the entire state was included in the original disaster declaration on May 10.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Follow FEMA online at,, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

Media Contact: 571-408-1835

Last Updated: 
June 14, 2013 - 13:18
State/Tribal Government or Region: