Main Content

More Illinois Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
May 23, 2013
Release Number: 
4116-IL NR-014

More Illinois Counties Added to Disaster Declaration 

CHICAGO – Illinois residents in 14 additional counties who were affected by the severe storms and flooding in April are now eligible to register for federal disaster assistance, state and federal officials announced today.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved Governor Pat Quinn's request to add Bureau, Crawford, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Peoria, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell and Woodford counties to the major disaster declaration issued May 10.

This brings the total to 25 counties in the Illinois disaster declaration for severe storms and flooding between April 16 and May 5. Previous counties designated under the declaration are Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will.

Illinois Emergency Management Teams and FEMA continue to assess damage and help residents begin their recovery.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary rental assistance, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Also, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Individuals can register online at or via web-enabled phone at Applicants may also call 1-800-621-3362 or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.  Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS) can call 1-800-621-3362.

SBA low-interest disaster loans may be available for homeowners, renters, businesses and private non-profit organizations of all sizes to repair or replace real estate, contents and/or personal property damaged in the severe storms and flooding. Information and assistance from SBA is available at 1-800-659-2955, (TTY) 1-800-877-8339 or online at

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Follow FEMA online at,, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

Media Contact: 571-408-1835


Last Updated: 
May 23, 2013 - 10:30
State/Tribal Government or Region: