More Federal Assistance to Forrest, Lamar, Marion and Wayne Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
February 19, 2013
Release Number: 

PEARL, Miss. - The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today that the four counties in the Mississippi federal disaster declaration – Forrest, Lamar, Marion and Wayne – are eligible to receive additional disaster assistance in recovering from the storms and tornadoes of Feb. 10.

In an amendment to the original presidential declaration, Forrest and Lamar counties are now eligible to receive Public Assistance in Categories C through G: 

Category C - Roads and Bridges

  • Category D - Water Control Facilities,
  • Category E - Public Buildings and Equipment
  • Category F - Utilities,
  • Category G - Parks, Recreational Facilities, and other items.

The Public Assistance program reimburses state and local governments, tribal organizations and certain private nonprofit entities at least 75 percent of costs for disaster-related expenses associated with emergency protective measures, debris removal, and the repair and restoration of damaged infrastructure. The remaining 25 percent comes from non-federal funds.

Forrest and Lamar counties were already designated as eligible for assistance with debris removal and emergency protective measures (Public Assistance Categories A and B).

Marion and Wayne counties are now eligible to receive Public Assistance in all categories.

All four counties had been designated as eligible for Individual Assistance. FEMA’s individual assistance program helps eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured personal property losses and medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, along with other disaster-related expenses and serious needs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.





Last Updated: 
February 24, 2013 - 16:47
Back to Top