New Kent County Designated for FEMA Public Assistance for Sandy

Main Content
Release date: 
January 4, 2013
Release Number: 

RICHMOND, Va. – The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced today that New Kent County is now eligible for disaster aid under the FEMA Public Assistance program.

The Public Assistance program reimburses state and local governments, and certain private nonprofit entities at least 75 percent of costs for disaster-related expenses associated with Hurricane Sandy.  Grants will help pay for the emergency protective measures taken during the storm, debris removal from public roads, and permanent repairs to public infrastructure, highways, bridges, utilities, schools, museums, parks, and other taxpayer-funded facilities. The remaining 25 percent comes from state and local funds.

With the addition of New Kent County, there are now 26 Virginia counties and 3 cities designated for Public Assistance.  Under President Obama’s federal disaster declaration, Accomack, Arlington, Clarke, Craig, Culpeper, Essex, Fauquier, Frederick, Greene, Highland, King and Queen, Lancaster, Loudoun, Madison, Mathews, Middlesex, Nelson, New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Prince William, Rappahannock, Shenandoah, Surry, Warren, and Westmoreland counties and the cities of Fairfax, Falls Church, and Manassas are eligible for disaster aid under the FEMA Public Assistance Program. 

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
January 11, 2013 - 14:04
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top