Main Content

FEMA Designates Glades County for Isaac Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
November 7, 2012
Release Number: 

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Local government and certain non-profit organizations in Glades County can now request reimbursement for eligible costs incurred due to Hurricane Isaac.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has designated Glades County for federal Public Assistance after considering the Florida Division of Emergency Management’s Nov. 6 request.

The Public Assistance program reimburses eligible public entities, on a cost-sharing basis, for repairing or replacing damaged buildings and infrastructure and emergency expenses such as debris removal, search and rescue, increased security and overtime pay for employees.

Public Assistance applicants in Glades will join those in 11 other Florida counties that will receive federal and state grants as a result of Hurricane Isaac. The other counties are Bay, Collier, Escambia, Franklin, Gulf, Martin, Monroe, Okaloosa, Palm Beach, St. Lucie, and Santa Rosa.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
November 7, 2012 - 16:47
State/Tribal Government or Region: