FEMA Public Assistance Extended in Nine New York Counties Hit By Hurricane Sandy

Main Content
Release date: 
November 3, 2012
Release Number: 

ALBANY, NY – The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today has extended federal disaster aid in nine New York counties to include supplemental funding for infrastructure repairs in the wake of Hurricane Sandy.

Eligible applicants in the counties of Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester can now apply for FEMA Public Assistance (PA) reimbursement for repairs to roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities, parks and recreational facilities and other facilities.

The nine counties already had been designated for FEMA Public Assistance funding for debris removal and emergency protective measures.

“The additional federal infrastructure funding is intended to help New York’s hard-hit communities recover from the devastation left by Hurricane Sandy,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Michael F. Byrne.
Supplementary funding under the PA program goes to the state and its agencies, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations.
 Under the program, the federal share of a project’s expenses typically cannot be less than 75 percent of eligible costs. The state forwards the federal funds to the eligible local governments or organizations that incurred costs.

Last Updated: 
November 6, 2012 - 17:57
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top