Main Content

New York Residents Urged to Register for Federal Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
November 2, 2012
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- New York residents affected by Hurricane Sandy may now call or go online to register for disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), state and federal officials announced today.
“Registering is an important way to help get you on the path to a variety of recovery programs,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Michael F. Byrne. “We’re urging people with hurricane-related damages in federally declared disaster areas to apply as soon as possible.”
The major federal disaster declaration, signed by President Obama Oct. 30, offers Individual Assistance in the counties of Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

Disaster survivors have several ways to apply.

Individuals can call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- and hearing-impaired. If you use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.

Another option is to register online at  or via web-enabled phone or tablet at
The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT, seven days a week until further notice.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
November 7, 2012 - 13:55
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: