Disaster Unemployment Benefits Available For Mississippi Workers Affected By Hurricane Isaac

Main Content
Release date: 
September 26, 2012
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. – People who lost work due to Hurricane Isaac may be eligible for disaster unemployment benefits, but deadlines are approaching.

Those living or working in Hancock, Harrison, Jackson and Pearl River counties have until October 4 to apply.

Residents and workers in Adams, Amite, Clarke, Forrest, George, Hinds, Lincoln, Marion, Pike, Stone, Walthall, Warren and Wilkinson counties have until October 10 to apply for unemployment benefits.

Those who may be eligible include:

  • Self-employed individuals who lived or worked in the affected areas during the storm and those who are unemployed as a result of the storm.
  • Workers who were unable to reach their jobs.
  • Those who were to begin employment because they were unable to travel due to the disaster.
  • Individuals who became the primary or major wage earner due to the disaster-related death of the head of the household.
  • Those who cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the storm.
  • Individuals who can no longer work or lost work as a result of physical damage or destruction of a business.

To apply for disaster unemployment assistance, go online to www.mdes.ms.gov, which is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Or, call the toll-free number 888-844-3577 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Those requiring TTY assistance may call 800-582-2233.

The program is funded by FEMA and administered by the state of Mississippi.


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
September 26, 2012 - 08:29
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top