Main Content

Storm Aid to Southern Mississippi Counties Expanded

Main Content
Release date: 
September 12, 2012
Release Number: 

CLINTON, MISS. More than two dozen southern Mississippi counties will receive additional types of reimbursement for Hurricane Isaac storm recovery.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency can reimburse 75 percent of the eligible cost to repair road systems and bridges, water control facilities, public buildings and contents, public utilities, parks, recreational and other key public facilities in the following counties:

Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Copiah, Covington, Franklin, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lamar, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Newton, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Smith, Stone, Walthall, Wayne and Wilkinson counties are eligible for repair money.

FEMA previously agreed to reimburse much of the cost of debris removal and emergency protective measures in the following counties in Mississippi:

Adams,  Amite, Attala, Carroll, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis,  Jones, Kemper, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Walthall, Warren, Winston, Wayne, Wilkinson, and Yazoo, plus the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.



Last Updated: 
September 19, 2012 - 13:25
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: