Disaster Recovery Centers Open in Lincoln and Walthall Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
September 12, 2012
Release Number: 

CLINTON, MISS. Disaster recovery centers are open in Brookhaven and Tylertown to help those with storm losses caused by Hurricane Isaac.  Center hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. every day until further notice. 

Lincoln County

National Guard Armory

182 Highway 84 E  

Brookhaven, MS 39601

Walthall County

Walthall County Library

707 Union Rd.

Tylertown, MS  39667


Additional recovery centers opened last week. Residents with storm losses may visit any center for assistance.

Hancock County

Hancock County Resource Center

454 Highway 90

Waveland, MS 39576


Harrison County

County Farm Road Community Shelter 

15035 County Farm Rd.

Gulfport, MS 39503


Pearl River County

Mississippi National Guard Armory

1251-B Highway 11 South

Picayune, MS 39466


Jackson County

Jackson County Fairgrounds

4761 Vega St.

Pascagoula, MS 39567


Pearl River County

Baker Maid Building

403 South Main St.

Poplarville, MS  39470






Representatives of the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Small Business Administration will be at the centers to explain assistance programs and help survivors apply for disaster aid.

Before going to a disaster recovery center, people with storm losses are encouraged to register with FEMA.

Survivors can register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or via smartphone by going to FEMA’s mobile site at m.fema.gov. Applicants may also call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. If you use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Federal disaster assistance can include grants for rental assistance and home repairs, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help recover from the effects of the disaster.


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.




Last Updated: 
September 12, 2012 - 13:07
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top