Additional Disaster Recovery Centers Open in Ascension and Livingston Parishes

Main Content
Release date: 
September 7, 2012
Release Number: 

BATON ROUGE, La. --  Additional State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) opened Friday in Ascension and Livingston parishes to assist homeowners, renters and business owners who sustained damage to their home or personal property as a result of Hurricane Isaac.

Specialists from the state of Louisiana, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are on hand to answer questions and provide information on the types of assistance available to survivors.

The new DRCs are located at:


Lamar-Dixon Expo Center

9039 St. Landry Rd.

Gonzales 70338

Opening on: Friday, Sept. 7, 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturday forward: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice


Satsuma Village Mall

28975 S. Satsuma Rd., Suite D

Livingston, LA 70754

Opening on: Friday, Sept. 7, 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturday forward: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice

This brings to 12 the number of centers operating. More recovery centers will open as sites are identified and approved. For a list of open centers in Louisiana go online to

Applying for disaster assistance is quick and simple. Individuals can register online at or via web-enabled phone at Applicants may also call 1-800-621-3362 or (TTY)    1-800-462-7585.  If you use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week.

SBA offers federal low-interest disaster loans to residents and businesses. After registering with FEMA, visit any Disaster Recovery Center where SBA representatives will answer questions, explain the application process and help each resident or business owner apply to SBA. For SBA information or to apply online, visit or call 1-800-659-2955. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call 1-800-877-8339.

The major disaster declaration for Hurricane Isaac now makes available federal assistance to eligible survivors in 16 parishes: Ascension, Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne and Washington.

For more information on Louisiana disaster recovery, visit online at or You can follow us on Twitter at or on Facebook at Also visit our blog at

Last Updated: 
November 7, 2012 - 13:45
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top