Mississippi Major Disaster Declaration Amended to Include Individual Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 1, 2012
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON – Today, FEMA announced an amendment to the major disaster declaration for the State of Mississippi to include the Individual Assistance Program.

Federal funding is now available to affected individuals in for Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, and Pearl River counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, and uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and households recover from the effects of the disaster.

Individuals and households who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance by registering online at http://www.disasterassistance.gov, or by web enabled mobile device at m.fema.gov. Those without access to the internet may call FEMA’s toll-free number at 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

For more information, visit: http://www.fema.gov/public-assistance-local-state-tribal-and-non-profit/recovery-directorate/assistance-individuals-and.

Federal Coordinating Officer Terry L. Quarles said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

On Thursday, the President declared a major disaster declaration for the State of Mississippi for emergency work and hazard mitigation.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Follow FEMA online at blog.fema.gov, www.twitter.com/fema, www.facebook.com/fema, and www.youtube.com/fema.  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at www.twitter.com/craigatfema.   The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications. 

Last Updated: 
September 1, 2012 - 20:31
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top