Federal, State and Local Partners Team Up To Identify Middle Brazos/Palo Pinto Watershed Flood Risks in Texas

Main Content
Release date: 
July 2, 2012
Release Number: 

DENTON, Texas -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is initiating a watershed approach to identifying flood risk in an area involving nearly a dozen Texas counties.

As this effort begins in the Middle Brazos/Palo Pinto Watershed, local, state and federal officials are working together to develop partnerships, share flood risk information and identify opportunities for mitigation action.

The watershed touches a total of 11 Texas counties: Archer, Eastland, Erath, Hood, Jack, Johnson, Palo Pinto, Parker, Somervell, Stephens and Young.

“It’s important that the whole community be a part of this process in order for the end result to be a tangible mitigation action,” said FEMA Region 6 Acting Administrator Tony Robinson. “For a comprehensive picture of a community’s flood risk, FEMA relies heavily on information and data provided by the community itself.”

Presently, FEMA is gathering information from a variety of stakeholders including community officials, flood plain administrators, engineers, watershed council representatives, planners, and emergency managers. This data is being collected through a process called discovery, initiated by discovery meetings recently held in the local area.

Because flood hazards change over time, officials say the watershed approach to identifying flood risks provides a great opportunity to take a comprehensive look at the components that contribute to a community’s flood risk.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 13, 2012 - 15:16
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top