Main Content

Kentuckians Have Just Two Weeks Left To Register With FEMA

Release date: 
April 20, 2012
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Survivors of the severe storms and tornadoes of Feb. 29 through March 3 have only two weeks remaining to register with The Federal Emergency Management Agency for federal disaster assistance. The final day to register is May 7.

Disaster officials urge everyone who suffered damage or losses from the storms to register for assistance with FEMA, including those who may have had insurance to cover some of their losses. Insurance may not cover all losses.

The May 7 deadline also is the same for those submitting disaster loan applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration. These loans are available to homeowners and renters as well as to private nonprofit organizations and businesses of all sizes.

Completion of the SBA loan application does not obligate an applicant to take out a loan, but the information in the application may be used to determine qualification for further federal assistance through FEMA's Other Needs Assistance program.
Homeowners, renters and business owners in the following 21 Kentucky counties may be eligible: Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe.

Register with FEMA online at or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362). Callers with speech or hearing disabilities can use TTY 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service should call 800-621-3362. Assistance is available in several languages. Smartphone or tablet users can go to to register.

People who have already registered can call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 if they have questions or additional information to provide. 
Prior to calling or registering online, residents should have:

  • The address of the affected property
  • A brief description of the damages
  • A current address where they receive mail
  • Social Security number
  • Insurance information including policy numbers
  • A phone number and an alternate phone number

Applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA to be considered for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses. Applicants who do not qualify for an SBA loan may be eligible to receive Other Needs Assistance grants for these items.

The SBA Disaster Customer Service Center toll-free number is 800-659-2955. Help is also available by sending an e-mail to or by going online at Loan applications can be made online at SBA's secure website:  An SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center (DLOC) is open to assist SBA loan applicants.  The center is located in West Liberty in Johnson County at the Kentucky Housing Cooperative Building until April 27.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: