Main Content

Federal Disaster Aid Total In Kentucky Exceeds $14 Million

Release date: 
April 6, 2012
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. — More than $14 million in federal disaster assistance has been approved for Kentucky survivors of the recent severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding occurring Feb. 29 through March 3.

"The swift action by our local, state and federal partners in response to this natural disaster has allowed millions of federal dollars to go directly to our families as they recover and rebuild their lives," Gov. Steve Beshear said. "We will continue to monitor and assist in these long-term recovery efforts until every community is stable and thriving once again." 

To date:

  • Over 5,000 Kentuckians in 21 designated counties have contacted FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance.
  • More than $6.3 million has been approved for housing assistance, including short-term rental assistance and home repair costs.
  • More than 2,580 homes sustained damages. Of those, more than 671 were destroyed.
  • Over 4,400 households have received FEMA grants to help pay for temporary housing.
  • Over 2,940 inspections of damaged properties have been conducted.
  • Over $6.7 million in low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses has been approved by the Small Business Administration.
  • Nearly $1.6 million has been approved to cover other essential disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses and lost personal possessions.

The 14 Kentucky counties eligible for help from FEMA’s Public Assistance program are Ballard, Grant, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Pendleton, Trimble and Wolfe. 

Public Assistance is available on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, utilities, schools and similar facilities. Public Assistance is also available to certain private nonprofit agencies and organizations.

Commonwealth counties eligible for Individual Assistance are Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

Kentucky Emergency Management and FEMA are encouraging Kentuckians to make sure their friends, neighbors and family members have registered with FEMA for federal disaster assistance.

The federal disaster assistance registration deadline for Individual Assistance is May 7.

Disaster officials stress the importance of returning the SBA loan application survivors may have received as part of their registration package. Completion of the application provides information that may determine eligibility for further federal disaster assistance.

There are three ways to register with FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance: call 800-621-FEMA (3362), register online at, or register using a tablet or Smartphone by visiting Help is available in many languages.

Disaster applicants who use TTY should call 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service should call 800-621-3362. Lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, every day.

Kentucky Emergency Management urges anyone who has storm damage to their residence or other property to document the damage by photog...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: