Main Content

More Than $10 Million Goes to Kentucky Storm Survivors

Main Content
Release date: 
March 30, 2012
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Federal disaster responders have approved more than $10.1 million for survivors of the recent severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding occurring Feb. 29-March 2, 2012.

“The swift and full support from our local and federal emergency response partners has helped thousands of our families begin a successful recovery from these storms and tornadoes,” said Gov. Steve Beshear. “As we move into long-term recovery efforts, we will continue to make sure our communities and families have the resources they need to rebuild their homes and their lives.”

To date:

  • Nearly 4,800 storm survivors in 21 designated counties have contacted FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance. Many people have sought housing assistance from FEMA because their primary residence was damaged or destroyed.
  • More than $5.7 million has been approved for housing assistance, including short-term rental assistance and home repair costs.
  • More than 2,200 homes sustained damages. Of those, more than 650 were destroyed.
  • Nearly 1,300 households have received FEMA grants to help pay for temporary housing.
  • Nearly 2,700 inspections of damaged properties have been conducted.
  • Nearly $3 million in low-interest disaster loans has been approved by the Small Business Administration.
  • More than $1.4 million has been approved to cover other essential disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses and lost personal possessions.

The 14 counties in Kentucky currently eligible for Public Assistance are Ballard, Grant, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Morgan, Pendleton, Trimble and Wolfe.  Public Assistance is available to local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, utilities, schools and similar facilities.

The 21 counties in Kentucky currently eligible for Individual Assistance are Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe. Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

Kentucky Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency have begun a “Tell Your Neighbor” campaign and are asking all Kentucky survivors to tell their friends, family and neighbors to register with FEMA, even if they are reluctant to do so. An important aspect of the campaign is to return Small Business Administration applications for a low-interest disaster loan. No survivor is required to accept a loan, but they must return a completed application to be considered for additional FEMA assistance.

Disaster recovery centers in Johnson, Kenton, Laurel, Lawrence, Martin, Menifee and Pendleton will close permanently at 6 p.m., Saturday, March 31. Help is still available by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362). Additionally, centers remain open in Morgan and Magoffin counties.

There are three ways to register with FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance: call 800-621-FEMA (3362), register online at, or register using a tablet or Smartphone by visiting Help is available in many languages.

Disaster applicants who use TTY should call 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service should call 800-621-3362. Lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, every day....

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top