Main Content

Seven Months Later, Disaster Aid Surpasses $83.9 million

Main Content
Release date: 
March 27, 2012
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, PR -- More than $83.9 million in grants for disaster aid has been approved to Puerto Rico to continue recovering from the heavy rains, flooding, landslides and mudslides left by Hurricane Irene, Government of Puerto Rico and federal officials announced today.

After seven months, disaster assistance provided includes:

  • $32,883,649.59 million approved in Individual Assistance grants in which;$9,173,400 in low-interest disaster loans approved by the Small Business Administration
    • $14,793,759.12 million are in housing assistance including temporary housing, home repairs, and personal property losses
    • and $18,089,890.47 million in dental, medical and funeral costs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance
  • $2,312,536 in National Flood Insurance Program claims paid
  • $2,052,525 in Crisis Counseling (immediate and regular) programs
  • $21,400 in Disaster Unemployment Assistance
  • $36,861,110.63 in Public Assistance grants obligated
  • $666,750 in Mitigation Measures projects

Additional aid though is forthcoming: Public Assistance (PA) grants are now being obligated to repair or replace taxpayer-owned infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, utilities and similar public facilities. There are several approved projects from among 85 applicants that results in a federal funding of $36,861,110.63 million.

“We have taken steps toward renewing our lives and property,” said Justo Hernández, Federal Coordinating Officer. “Much more remains to be done. It will take time before we complete the recovery  process from Hurricane Irene damages.”

On August 27, 2011, President Obama granted a federal disaster declaration making eligible for Disaster Assistance programs the municipalities of: Adjuntas, Aguada, Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Añasco, Arecibo, Arroyo, Barranquitas, Bayamón, Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cataño, Cayey, Ceiba, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerío, Corozal, Culebra, Fajardo, Guayama, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Humacao, Jayuya, Juana Díaz, Juncos, Las Marías, Las Piedras, Loíza, Luquillo, Maricao, Maunabo, Morovis, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Peñuelas, Ponce, Rincón, Río Grande, Sabana Grande, Salinas, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Santa Isabel, Trujillo Alto, Utuado, Vega Baja, Vieques, Villalba, Yabucoa and Yauco.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and  first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: