Main Content

Seven More Kentucky Counties Designated For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
March 22, 2012
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency has announced that the disaster declaration for the Commonwealth of Kentucky has been amended to include an additional seven counties that will receive Public Assistance. The declaration is for damage caused by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding occurring Feb. 29 through March 3.

On March 16, Kentucky’s disaster declaration was amended to add Public Assistance for seven counties: Grant, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, and Morgan. The amendment announced today by FEMA provides Public Assistance for Ballard, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Pendleton, Trimble and Wolfe counties.

Public Assistance is available to the Commonwealth and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in designated counties on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair of damaged, or replacement of destroyed, taxpayer-owned infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, utilities, schools and similar facilities.

Individual Assistance has been awarded to 21 Kentucky counties previously. Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Federal funding for Kentucky also is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top