Main Content

Disaster Declaration Expanded to Include Public Assistance for Seven Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
March 19, 2012
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency has announced that the disaster declaration for the Commonwealth of Kentucky has been amended to include federal disaster aid known as Public Assistance for seven counties.

Counties declared for Public Assistance are Grant, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee and Morgan.

Public Assistance is available to Commonwealth and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in the seven counties on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged or destroyed facilities.

The amended declaration will enable the repair of damaged or replacement of destroyed taxpayer-owned infrastructure, such as roads, bridges, utilities, schools, and similar facilities.

Previously, the declaration included Individual Assistance.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and businesses losses not fully compensated by insurance.

The declaration previously approved 21 Kentucky counties for Individual Assistance. These are: Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Kenton, Johnson, LaRue, Lawrence, Laurel, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble and Wolfe.

Federal funding for Kentucky also is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top