Main Content

Federal Disaster Assistance Available in 10 Tennessee Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
March 18, 2012
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Survivors in 10 Tennessee counties affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding Feb. 29 through March 2 should apply now for federal assistance.

Federal funding is available to affected individuals in Bradley, Claiborne, Cumberland, DeKalb, Hamilton, Jackson, McMinn, Monroe, Overton and Polk counties.

Individual assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency can help eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured personal property losses and medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, along with other disaster-related expenses and serious needs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.
Storm survivors should register with FEMA, a process that takes 15 to 30 minutes.

Registration is available online at or by phone at 800-621-FEMA (3362). Help is available in many languages. Disaster applicants who use TTY should call 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) should call 800-621-3362.

The toll-free FEMA registration numbers are available seven days a week from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time.

Survivors also can apply for federal assistance directly through Web-enabled mobile phone devices or smartphones. Registration through the mobile site involves three steps:

  1. Go to and click "Apply Online for FEMA Assistance." You will be directed to;
  2. Click on Start Registration; and
  3. Fill out the registration form.

FEMA will ask for the following information:

  • The telephone number where applicants can be reached;
  • The address where applicants lived at the time of the disaster and the address where they are staying;
  • Their Social Security number;
  • A general description of damage to property and other losses;
  • The name of the insurance company and policy number or agent if the property is insured; and
  • Bank account routing information (for direct deposit of funds) or address for mail delivery (optional).

People whose property suffered any storm damage are encouraged to document damage with photographs and to save repair receipts. Damage also should be reported to the insurance company. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all of Tennessee.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: