Disaster Recovery Centers: What to Expect When You Visit

Main Content
Release date: 
March 16, 2012
Release Number: 

Follow this link to FEMA video: www.fema.gov/medialibrary/media_records/7746

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Commonwealth of Kentucky are operating Disaster Recovery Centers, or DRCs, in disaster-declared communities that experienced severe storms and tornadoes Feb. 29 through March 3, 2012.

At a Disaster Recovery Center, survivors can meet face-to-face with trained disaster recovery personnel and get answers to their questions as well as information about FEMA, the Commonwealth and programs that will help survivors rebuild their lives.

Every attempt is made by the Commonwealth and FEMA to locate the recovery centers in communities as close as practicable to the disaster impacted area so each is readily available to survivors. DRCs currently are open in Magoffin, Morgan, Johnson, Menifee, Lawrence and Laurel counties.

All Disaster Recovery Centers in Kentucky are handicapped accessible.

Disaster Recovery Centers are staffed by trained FEMA personnel as well as representatives of the Commonwealth and other federal agencies and voluntary organizations. Talking with these representatives, disaster survivors can:

  • Register with FEMA, although disaster survivors are encouraged to register with FEMA before they visit a Disaster Recovery Center.
  • Get information about different types of state and federal disaster assistance.
  • Learn steps they might take to help them recover from the disaster. 
  • Get clarification of information they may have received from FEMA or other agencies regarding their application.
  • Obtain information about rental assistance for homeowners and renters.
  •  Find out status of applications being processed by FEMA.
  • Get help completing low-interest SBA loan applications administered by the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters or business owners.
  • Obtain referrals for legal counseling.
  • Obtain referrals for crisis counseling.
  • Receive referrals to the American Red Cross and other voluntary organizations to help with urgent needs not currently being met.
  • Learn about cost-effective mitigation measures while rebuilding that are designed to reduce impact of future disaster losses.
  • Fax requested documents to a FEMA processing center.

Each Disaster Recovery Center is open 9 a.m. – 6 p.m. daily, including Sunday.  Beginning Monday, March 19, all Disaster Recovery Centers will be open Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover ...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top