Disaster Unemployment Assistance Deadline Fast Approaching for January Tornado Survivors

Main Content
Release date: 
February 28, 2012
Release Number: 

PELHAM, Ala. -- Disaster unemployment assistance is available for survivors of the Jan. 22-23 storms in Chilton, Jefferson and Perry counties. The deadline for Chilton and Jefferson counties to file for disaster unemployment assistance is March 5. The deadline in Perry County is March 12.

Anyone who became unemployed as a direct result of the Jan. 22-23, 2012, storms may qualify for unemployment assistance through the Alabama Department of Industrial Relations. The assistance may be available for those who were unable to reach their workplace, no longer have a job, or who had a prospective job eliminated because it was located in an affected area. Survivors may file a claim through DIR’s website at www.dir.alabama.gov or by calling 866-234-5328.

Survivors may be eligible for disaster unemployment assistance if they became the primary wage-earner or major support of the family because the head of their household died as a result of the storm. Those who cannot work because of an injury incurred during the disaster may also be eligible for assistance.

Also, free or reduced-cost legal services, including legal advice, counseling and representation, may be provided to low-income disaster victims through the Alabama Bar Association’s volunteer attorney program.

The Alabama Bar Association’s contact number, 800-354-6154, is available until May 20, 2012.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top