Federal Disaster Assistance Available to Alabama Survivors

Main Content
Release date: 
February 2, 2012
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Survivors of the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding on January 22-23, in Alabama should apply now for federal assistance.

The Feb. 1, Presidential disaster declaration made individual assistance funding available to people affected by the storms in Chilton and Jefferson counties.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency provides assistance in the form of grants for temporary housing, basic home repairs, other serious disaster-related needs, and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) offers low-interest disaster loans to renters, homeowners and businesses. 

However, you must register first. The process only takes 15 to 30 minutes.

You can register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or call 800-621-FEMA (3362). Operators speak many languages. Those with hearing or speech impairment can use TTY 800-462-7585.

The toll-free FEMA registration numbers are available seven days a week from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time.

You can also apply for federal assistance directly through Web-enabled devices or smartphones. Registration through the mobile site takes three steps:

  1. Go to m.fema.gov and click “Apply Online for FEMA Assistance.” You will be directed to www.DisasterAssistance.gov;
  2. Click on Start Registration; and
  3. Fill out the registration form.

FEMA will ask you for the following information:

  • The telephone number where you can be reached;
  • The address where you lived at the time of the disaster and the address where you are currently staying;
  • Your Social Security Number;
  • A general description of damage to your property and other losses;
  • The name of your insurance company and your policy number or agent if you have property insurance for the January 22-23 storms; and
  • Your bank account routing information if you want FEMA to use direct deposit.

Individual assistance helps eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured personal property losses and medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, along with other disaster-related expenses and serious needs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top