Main Content

Recovery Alert: One Week To Register With FEMA

Release date: 
December 29, 2011
Release Number: 

AUSTIN, Texas – Texas wildfire survivors in 23 counties have just one week to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for potential state and federal recovery assistance.

The registration deadline is Jan. 6, 2012, for survivors in counties designated for Individual Assistance under the major disaster declaration of Sept. 9, 2011. The counties are Anderson, Bastrop, Caldwell, Cass, Colorado, Fayette, Gregg, Grimes, Harrison, Henderson, Hill, Houston, Leon, Marion, Montgomery, Navarro, Rusk, Smith, Travis, Upshur, Walker, Waller and Williamson.

 “We urge Texans who sustained any damage or property loss to register with FEMA, even if you have insurance or think you won’t qualify for assistance,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin L. Hannes of FEMA. “Let us review your case to see whether FEMA can help.”

Jan. 6 is also the deadline to return applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for low-interest disaster loans for property damage.

To date, more than $13.3 million in grants has been approved for home repairs or replacement, rental assistance and other needs. Another $19.5 million in SBA low-interest disaster loans has been approved for 174 homes and businesses.

Survivors can register online at, via web-enabled phone at until midnight Jan. 6. Texans can also register by telephone until 9 p.m. Jan. 6 via FEMA’s toll-free numbers: 1-800-621-3362 or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services can call 1-800-621-3362. Recovery assistants remain available from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily, and multilingual operators are available.

Texans can follow FEMA tweets about the Texas disaster at Other online resources are, and


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: