Main Content

Five Virginia Counties and the City of Fredericksburg Added for Individual Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
December 29, 2011
Release Number: 

MIDLOTHIAN, Va. -- The Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that the counties of Culpeper, Fluvanna, Goochland, Orange, Spotsylvania and the City of Fredericksburg are eligible for Individual Assistance.

"This is good news because residents in these counties suffered personal losses due to the earthquake and can now apply for assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency," said State Coordinating Officer Michael Cline.
Disaster officials urge individuals in these counties who suffered damages from the earthquake and aftershocks to register with FEMA.

Under the IA program homeowners, renters and business owners in these counties are now eligible for assistance to help them recover from the earthquake and subsequent aftershocks that shook Virginia between Aug. 23 and Oct. 25.

The program can help cover costs for temporary housing, repairs to their homes, and funding toward replacement of a home that has been totally destroyed. It also includes "Other Needs Assistance," which may cover medical, transportation, moving and storage, and other expenses associated with personal loss due to the earthquake.

"These counties were added after joint damage assessments were completed with local and state partners," said Federal Coordinating Officer Don Keldsen.? "We are happy to be able to assist eligible individuals recover from this disaster."

Registering is the first step in qualifying for a FEMA grant, a form of financial assistance that does not have to be repaid.

To register, call 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 800-462-7585, or go online to Phone lines are open from 7 a.m. - 10 p.m. EST seven days a week, except New Year's Day when the phone lines are closed for the Holiday. Online registration is available at any time. Those with smart phones or other mobile devices also can register at

It helps to have the following information handy before registering:

  • Social Security number.
  • Current and pre-disaster address.
  • Telephone number where you can be reached.
  • Insurance information.
  • Total household annual income.
  • Routing and account number from your bank (if you want to have disaster assistance funds transferred directly into your bank account).
  • Description of losses caused by the earthquake.

After registering, you will receive a FEMA application number. Write down this number and keep it for future reference.

In addition, the counties of Culpeper and Northampton have been added for Public Assistance. This designation will allow FEMA to reimburse state and local governments as well as certain nonprofits for damages to public infrastructure in those counties.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top