Main Content

Declaration For New Mexico Flooding Amended

Main Content
Release date: 
December 16, 2011
Release Number: 

SANTA FE, NEW MEXICO – President Obama amended his November 23, 2011, declaration to include the designations of Los Alamos County and the Pueblo of Cochiti for flooding that occurred from August 19-24, 2011. 
The Presidential Declaration provides federal funding to designated state, tribal, and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the floods.

The declaration originally designated Cibola and Sandoval counties, and the pueblos of Acoma and Santa Clara, as a result of joint preliminary damage assessments by the state and FEMA shortly after the flooding.

“Immediately following a declaration, the state and FEMA conduct outreach to determine if any damages extended beyond the original assessment,” Federal Coordinating Officer Mark H. Armstrong said. “It’s not uncommon to have add-on designations after a declaration.”

“Our goal is to ensure that any tribes or counties impacted by the floods during those dates are provided the opportunity to seek federal assistance for repair and recovery efforts,” New Mexico Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management Secretary Mike Duvall said. “I appreciate the hard work that our joint teams have done to identify other possible applicants for assistance.”

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: