Incident Period for July 1 Texas Disaster Declaration Extended

Main Content
Release date: 
December 14, 2011
Release Number: 

AUSTIN, Texas -- Additional federal funds could start flowing to dozens more Texas counties now that the official incident period for the July 1 presidential disaster declaration has been extended.

Officials with the Texas Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that the initial timeframe identified in the federal disaster declaration has been adjusted to cover the period from April 6 to Aug. 29, 2011.

“This expansion of the original timeframe will allow for more Texas communities to receive the help they need to recover from these wildfires,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin L. Hannes. “We are confident that our strong partnership with the state will allow for a smooth, coordinated effort on behalf of these impacted communities.”

With the incident period extended, 67 additional Texas counties have been designated to receive federal funding through FEMA’s Public Assistance (PA) program. The bulk of the counties are eligible for reimbursement for emergency protective measures under the PA program, while a couple of counties received approval for additional categories of work.

PA is for the state and its agencies, local governments and certain private, nonprofit organizations.

The newly designated counties eligible for federal aid for emergency protective measures under PA are Anderson, Bastrop, Blanco, Briscoe, Brooks, Brown, Burnett, Cass, Coke, Coryell, Crane, Crosby, Culberson, Dickens, Donley, Foard, Franklin, Frio, Gonzales, Hansford, Hardeman, Hardin, Harrison, Haskell, Houston, Howard, Hutchinson, Jack, Jasper, Jim Hogg,  Jones, Kimble, Knox, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Leon, Live Oak, Marion, Mills, Montague, Morris, Newton, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Panola, Potter, Randall, Reagan, Red River, Roberts, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Saba, Shackelford, Somervell, Swisher, Upton, Walker, Wheeler, Wilbarger and Winkler counties. Childress and Deaf Smith counties are eligible for all categories under PA.

More information about FEMA’s PA program can be found at For more on the declaration, visit the TDEM website at or the FEMA website at

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. 

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top