Main Content

Deadline Nears for Applying for Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
December 12, 2011
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico -- Puerto Rico disaster survivors who have not yet registered for federal disaster assistance have only 8 more days to apply. December 19, 2011, is the last day to apply for most disaster assistance programs of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), according to Government of Puerto Rico and federal officials.

Federal Coordinating Officer Justo Hernández and Governor’s Authorized Representative, Juan Carlos Pavía urge Tropical Storm María survivors to apply as soon as possible by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), going online at, or via mobile application Disaster assistance applicants, who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly.

Renters, homeowners or business owners who lived or do business in Juana Díaz, Naguabo and Yabucoa and suffered losses caused by Tropical Storm María may be eligible for assistance. President Obama declared a major disaster for those municipalities on October 18, 2011.

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as temporary housing, home repairs and other uninsured, disaster-related necessary expenses and serious needs. Low interest rate federal disaster loans are available through the Small Business Administration (SBA).

For answers to questions about the disaster assistance programs or to check the status of their claim, applicants may call FEMA at 1-800-621-3362. These lines are available from Monday through Friday from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

More than 3,850 residents have applied and more than $1.1 million in grants and another $137,500 in low interest loans have been approved.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and  first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: