Main Content

FEMA Funds Disaster Case Management Program in Missouri

Release date: 
December 8, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- Missourians with disaster-related unmet needs even after receiving state and federal disaster assistance now can access disaster case management services.

The state of Missouri has received a grant of more than $5.3 million to help the long-term recovery of individuals and families affected by the severe storms, tornados and flooding that struck the state this spring, according to federal recovery officials.

The Disaster Case Management program grant is fully funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency and will be administered by the Missouri Department of Economic Development, in partnership with the Missouri Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster, to help disaster survivors address their disaster-caused unmet needs through disaster case management, which may assist disaster survivors in identifying resources for basic needs such as food, shelter, and first aid, as well as financial, physical, emotional, or spiritual well-being, and needs that were exacerbated by the disaster.

“Case management is integral to helping survivors achieve self-sufficiency,” Federal Coordinating Officer Steve Thompson said. “It’s an opportunity to focus on all aspects of recovery.”

Through the DCM program, case managers will assist disaster survivors with developing a goal-oriented plan for their recovery, match survivors’ essential needs to available resources in the area, monitor their progress toward reaching recovery goals and, when necessary, offer survivor advocacy. Services are available to any survivor with disaster-caused unmet needs. 

At the request of the state, the program is operating in 25 counties and offering case management services for up to 24 months from the May 9 disaster declaration.

Missourians who have unmet needs are encouraged to call United Way 2-1-1 by dialing 2-1-1 or (800) 427-4626 for information on services available in the area and referrals to case management services.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). TTY 1-800-462-7585; or use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) to call 1-800-621-3362.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: