Five Counties Added to Pennsylvania Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
November 18, 2011
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (PEMA) announced five additional counties have been added to the Public Assistance disaster declaration for the Commonwealth of  Pennsylvania for Tropical Storm Lee.  

The five new counties are Adams, Chester, Lackawanna, Mifflin, and Northampton. This brings the total number of Pennsylvania counties designated for Public Assistance to 44, including the counties designated under two emergency declarations and the disaster declaration for Hurricane Irene.

The previously declared counties are Bedford, Berks, Blair, Bradford, Bucks, Cambria, Carbon, Centre, Clinton, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Montgomery, Monroe, Montour, Northumberland, Perry, Philadelphia, Pike, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Wayne, Wyoming and York.

The Public Assistance program provides aid to the Commonwealth, affected tribal and local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. Examples of eligible private nonprofit facilities are electric and water utilities, custodial care, emergency and medical organizations, and educational institutions.

Approved public repair projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA. Public Assistance is a cost-share reimbursement program with grant funds administered by the Commonwealth.

All counties in the Commonwealth are eligible to apply for Hazard Mitigation Grants to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural or technological disasters.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top