Certain Private Nonprofits May Be Eligible for Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
November 18, 2011
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- Certain private nonprofit organizations (PNPs) may be eligible for disaster assistance for losses suffered during Hurricane Irene and/or Tropical Storm Lee, announced the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (PEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The PNPs must meet certain federal and Commonwealth qualifiers to apply under the federal Public Assistance program.

Federal disaster declarations for Hurricane Irene and for Tropical Storm Lee were signed by the President for Public Assistance following the August and September storms. The declarations make federal funding available to the Commonwealth, eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities that suffered damage or whose services were curtailed. The PNP organization’s losses must meet a threshold of $1,000.00.

The PNP must be located in one of the following designated counties: Adams, Bedford, Berks, Blair, Bradford, Bucks, Cambria, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clinton, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Delaware, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mifflin, Montgomery, Monroe, Montour, Northampton, Northumberland, Perry, Philadelphia, Pike, Schuylkill, Snyder, Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Wayne, Wyoming and York.

“We encourage private nonprofits in the designated counties to contact their county emergency management office to see if they are eligible for FEMA funds to help in their recovery. Emergency managers will provide information, answer questions and walk them through the application process,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Thomas J. McCool.  

Private nonprofit organizations must have:

  • An effective ruling letter from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) granting tax exemption under Section 501 (c), (d) or (e) of the IRS Code of 1954 as amended, or
  • State certification that the organization is a non-revenue producing nonprofit entity organized or doing business under Commonwealth law.

Additional criteria for eligibility
The private nonprofit seeking Public Assistance must be open to the public, with the exception of educational, utility, emergency, medical or custodial care facilities.  Assistance may include funds for emergency work, the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and assistance for emergency protective measures.

Private nonprofit facilities
Eligible PNPs seeking funds for permanent repairs and restoration must provide a critical and essential government service. The types of facilities may include educational, medical, emergency, irrigation, museums, arts centers, zoos, libraries, shelters, and health and safety facilities.

Facilities with mixed eligible and non-eligible activities may receive funding on a pro-rated basis for assistance if the facility dedicates over 50 percent of its space to public use. Assistance for costs not eligible for FEMA assistance may be available from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  If the mixed-use facility provides critical services in whole or in part, it may apply directly to FEMA for permanent work for the eligible portion.

Critical services
Critical service facilities include power, water, sewer and wastewater, communications, emergency medical care, nursing homes and fire protection/emergency services.

Non critical service facilities, the SBA loan, and FEMA aid
If the PNP applies to SBA the following may occur:

  • The PNP is approved for an SBA disaster loan and the loan fully covers eligible damages from the disaster event; no assistance from FEMA is available,
  • The PNP cannot afford an SBA disaste...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top