Main Content

Six State/Federal Disaster Recovery Center to Close

Release date: 
November 16, 2011
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico -- The Government of Puerto Rico and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials announced today the State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers in Caguas, Ciales, Humacao, Loíza, Río Grande and Trujillo Alto will be ceasing operations on Friday, November 18, 2011.

Survivors may continue visiting the remaining DRCs and applying for disaster assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), via internet at, or via mobile phone application

These six DRCs will operate on its regular schedule from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday until November 18, 2011 in the following location:

DRC in Caguas
Centro Gubernamental
Calle Goyco, Esq. Calle Acosta

DRC in Humacao
Coliseo Emilio E. Huyke
908 Ave. Tejas

DRC in Río Grande
Salón de Actividades
(City Hall)
Calle San Juan, Esq. San José

DRC in Ciales
Coliseo Raúl “Tinajón” Feliciano
Carr. 149 Int. Carr. 6685

DRC in Loíza
Estadio Manuel Fuentes Pinet
Carr. 188 final
(in front of McDonald’s)

DRC in Trujillo Alto
Centro de Seguridad Pública
Carr. 846, Km 0.1

Beginning Saturday, November 19, 2011 the remaining DRCs will operate Monday through Friday from 7:00 6:00 p.m. and will close on Saturdays.

On August 27, 2011, President Obama granted a federal disaster declaration making individuals and families affected by Hurricane Irene in Adjuntas, Aguas Buenas, Arroyo, Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cayey, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerío, Fajardo, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Humacao, Jayuya, Juncos, Las Piedras, Loíza, Luquillo, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Ponce, Río Grande, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Trujillo Alto, Vega Baja, Vieques, and Villalba, eligible to apply for disaster assistance.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and  first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: