Fremont County's Disaster Recovery Center is Closing Permanently on Thursday, November 17 at Noon

Main Content
Release date: 
November 15, 2011
Release Number: 

WEST DES MOINES IOWA -- Fremont County’s Disaster Recovery Center (DRC), located at the Emergency Operations Center (EOC), 2014 290th Avenue in Sidney, will close for good at 12 noon on Thursday, November 17.

Although the Fremont County DRC will close, Fremont area residents and businesses may still register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for federal and state assistance, and apply for disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) up until December 19, through one of the following ways:

  • FEMA’s toll-free Registration Helpline 1-800-621-FEMA (3362);
  • Those with a speech disability or hearing loss who use a TTY can call 1-800-462-7585, or use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) to call 1-800-621-3362;
  • Lines are open from 7 a.m.–10 p.m., 7 days a week until Dec. 19, 2011;
  • Online at, or by Smartphone at;
  • In person at a DRC.

Information on SBA disaster loan assistance (available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private nonprofits) can be obtained by calling: 1-800-659-2955 or by visiting the SBA website at Applicants who are deaf or hard-of-hearing can use TTY 1-800-877-8339. After registering with FEMA, applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at

The DRC in Pottawattamie County, located at the American Red Cross, Human Services Campus, 705 N. 16th Street, Council Bluffs, Ia. 51501, will remain open until further notice.

Representatives from FEMA, including Hazard Mitigation Advisors, and from the SBA are on hand at DRCs to answer questions, assist with FEMA registration and SBA loan applications, and to provide other recovery information.

Current hours of operation at the DRCs are 9 a.m. – 6 p.m. Monday to Friday, closed Saturday and Sunday.

FEMA and SBA currently provide disaster recovery assistance at the following DRC locations:

Pottawattamie County
American Red Cross
Human Services Campus
705 N. 16th Street
Council Bluffs, Ia. 51501

Fremont County
Emergency Operations Center
2014 290th Avenue
Sidney, Ia. 51652
Hours: 9–6 p.m. M-F; Closed Saturday & Sunday
Fremont County DRC will close permanently on Thursday, Nov. 17 at 12 p.m. (noon)

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top