New Hours at Disaster Recovery Centers Begin Monday, November 7th

Main Content
Release date: 
November 2, 2011
Release Number: 

West Des Moines, Iowa -- New hours of operation begin on Monday, November 7th at the three Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Iowa Homeland Security Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) serving springtime flooding disaster survivors in Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona and Pottawattamie counties.

New DRC hours beginning on Monday, November 7th are:

  • Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
  • Saturday & Sunday – CLOSED

Monona County DRC will close for good after close of business on Thursday, November 10th.

  • DRCs in Fremont and Pottawattamie Counties will be CLOSED on Friday, November 11th for Veterans Day

At the DRCs, representatives from FEMA, including Hazard Mitigation Specialists, and the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are on hand to answer questions, assist with FEMA registration and SBA loan applications, and to provide other recovery information.

DRCs are located at:

Pottawattamie County
American Red Cross
Human Services Campus
705 N. 16th Street
Council Bluffs, Ia. 51501

Fremont County                               
Emergency Operations Center            
2014 290th Avenue                          
Sidney, Ia. 51652

Monona County
Public Safety Office/SO
909 7th Street
Onawa, Ia. 51040
(closing Nov. 10 at 6 p.m.)

Although the DRCs will have fewer hours, and the Monona County DRC will be closing on November 10th at 6 p.m., residents and small businesses may still register for FEMA, State, and SBA assistance, through one of the following ways:

  • FEMA’s toll-free Registration Helpline 1-800-621-FEMA (3362)
  • Those with a speech disability or hearing loss who use a TTY can call 1-800-462-7585, or use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS) to call 1-800-621-3362
  • Lines are open from 7:00 a.m.–10:00 p.m., 7 days a week until December 19, 2011
  • Register online at, or by Smartphone at
  • Information on SBA programs can be obtained by calling: 1-800-659-2955, for speech and hearing impaired individuals TTY 1-800-877-8339, or by visiting the SBA website at
  • Visiting Disaster Recovery Centers in Fremont (Sidney, Ia.) and Pottawattamie Counties (Council Bluffs, Ia.)

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top