Main Content

Five State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers to Close

Main Content
Release date: 
November 2, 2011
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, PR -- The State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers in Coamo, Jayuya, Las Piedras, San Lorenzo and Vieques will be ceasing their operations on Saturday, November 5, 2011, announced today officials of the Government of Puerto Rico and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Survivors may continue visiting the remaining DRCs and applying for disaster assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), via internet at, or via mobile phone application

These five DRCs will operate on their regular schedule from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday and Saturday from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m, until November 5, 2011 in the following locations: 

DRC in Jayuya
Complejo Deportivo Filiberto García
Estadio Municipal Marcos A. Massini,
Carr. 140

DRC in San Lorenzo
Antiguo Cuartel Policía Municipal
Calle Baleriano Muñoz, Final Sur

DRC in Coamo
Coliseo Edwin “Puruco” Nolasco
Carr. 14, Boulevard Piel Canela

DRC in Las Piedras
Alcaldía Municipal Las Piedras
Carr. 198, Km. 22.6
DRC in Vieques
Centro Comunal Dionisio García
Carr. 200 Interior,  Bo. Monte Santo

On August 27, 2011, President Obama granted a federal disaster declaration making individuals and families affected by Hurricane Irene in Adjuntas, Aguas Buenas, Arroyo, Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cayey, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerío, Fajardo, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Humacao, Jayuya, Juncos, Las Piedras, Loíza, Luquillo, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Ponce, Río Grande, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Trujillo Alto, Vega Baja, Vieques, and Villalba, eligible to apply for disaster assistance.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and  first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: