Howard County Included in Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
November 1, 2011
Release Number: 

REISTERSTOWN, Md. -- Maryland Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal aid has been made available to support local recovery efforts in Howard County as a result of the remnants of Tropical Storm Lee.

The jurisdiction was added to the October 5, 2011, Public Assistance disaster declaration, which included Anne Arundel, Cecil, Charles and Prince George’s Counties.

State and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in these jurisdictions are eligible to apply for funding for emergency services related to the disaster, debris removal and repair or replacement of damaged roads, bridges, buildings, utilities, recreation areas and other public facilities.

Under the cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top