Nine Massachusetts Counties Now Eligible for FEMA Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 20, 2011
Release Number: 

WESTFIELD, Mass. -- As of October 20, 2011, five more Massachusetts counties (Barnstable, Bristol, Dukes, Norfolk and Plymouth) are eligible to receive Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance (PA) funding for response and recovery efforts due to damage and losses caused by Tropical Storm Irene from August 27 to 29. Nine counties are now eligible for PA.

Four counties – Berkshire, Franklin, Hamden and Hampton – are part of the original presidential disaster declaration on September 3, 2011, that included Public Assistance for the Commonwealth.

“FEMA Public Assistance dollars come to the community through a partnership of cost-sharing between the applicant, the state and the federal government,” said FEMA’s Federal Coordinating Officer Mark H. Landry. “FEMA picks up 75 percent of the eligible cost of putting a community back on its feet.”

Entities that may be eligible for PA include:

  • Local and county governments;
  • State governmental agencies;
  • Private nonprofit organizations owning or operating facilities that provide essential services… hospitals, nursing homes, colleges and universities, medical care facilities and providers.

PA grants are available to cover eligible costs in seven work categories:

  1. debris removal
  2. emergency protective measures
  3. road systems and bridges
  4. water control facilities
  5. public buildings, contents and equipment 
  6. utilities
  7. parks and recreational

There’s more information on FEMA’s PA program at

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top