Ten Counties Added for Public Assistance for Tropical Storm Lee

Main Content
Release date: 
October 15, 2011
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (PEMA) announced ten additional counties have been designated for Public Assistance for Tropical Storm Lee. President Obama issued a disaster declaration for the storm effective September 12, 2011.

The ten additional counties are Bedford, Bucks, Huntingdon, Montgomery, Northumberland, Perry, Tioga, Union, Wayne and York. This brings the number of counties designated under the declaration to 25 including Berks, Bradford, Columbia, Dauphin, Juniata, Lancaster, Lebanon, Luzerne, Lycoming, Montour, Schuylkill, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, and Wyoming. Additional jurisdictions may be designated at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments. 

The Public Assistance program provides aid to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, affected local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. Examples of eligible private nonprofit facilities are electric and water utilities, custodial care and medical organizations and educational institutions.

Approved Public Assistance projects are paid through the Commonwealth from funding provided by FEMA. Public Assistance is a 75/25-percent cost-share reimbursement program.

All counties in the Commonwealth are eligible to apply for Hazard Mitigation Grants to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural or technological disasters.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top