Six More Texas Counties Approved for Federal Infrastructure Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 13, 2011
Release Number: 

AUSTIN, Texas -- Federal disaster assistance has been approved for six more Texas counties as a result of wildfires that swept through the state beginning Aug. 30, the Texas Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) said Thursday.

The latest amendment to the Sept. 9 major disaster declaration adds Anderson, Henderson, Hill, Marion, Smith and Upshur counties to the list of nine already approved for federal cost-share reimbursements under FEMA’s Public Assistance (PA) program. The other counties are Bastrop, Cherokee, Colorado, Gregg, Harrison, Houston, Leon, Rusk and Walker.

The PA program helps reimburse applicants in the designated counties for the cost of removing disaster-related debris from public rights of way, and for measures taken by state and local emergency responders to protect lives and property before, during and after the fires. The program also helps defray the cost of repairing roads, public buildings, utilities, schools and other public infrastructure damaged or destroyed as a result of the wildfires.

Supplementary funding under the PA program goes to the state and its agencies, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations. Under the program, FEMA obligates funds to the state for 75 percent of eligible costs, while the state or applicant covers the remaining 25 percent. The state then forwards the funds to the eligible local governments or organizations that incurred costs.

More information about the PA program can be found at

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top