Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers Remain Open To Assist Survivors

Main Content
Release date: 
October 12, 2011
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. – Disaster survivors in eight North Carolina counties can talk with recovery specialists at disaster recovery centers located in their communities. Survivors are urged to visit these centers while they remain open.

The centers operating in Beaufort, Craven, Dare, Halifax, Hyde, Pamlico, Pitt and Tyrrell counties can help with housing assistance, rental information and questions regarding recovery. Staff at the centers can update the status of applications being processed by the Federal Emergency Management Agency as a result of damage caused by Hurricane Irene.

Survivors also can get information on the Small Business Administration disaster loan program at the centers. The SBA loan application is an important part of the disaster assistance process because it can open the door to other types of assistance from FEMA. Low-interest disaster SBA loans are available to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes.

So far, nearly 31,000 North Carolinians have contacted FEMA for help or information regarding disaster assistance. Besides visiting a recovery center, survivors may also reach FEMA by calling a toll-free helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362). People who are deaf or hard of hearing can call (TTY)800-462-7585. Lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. and multilingual assistance is available. Online registration is available at or through a smartphone or tablet at

Oct. 31 is the deadline to apply for federal grants and return low-interest disaster loan applications to the SBA. North Carolina Emergency Management and FEMA urge those who sustained disaster-related losses to register for federal aid, even if they are unsure of their eligibility.

Recovery centers are open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday. They are closed on Sunday.

Here are the locations of the recovery centers currently in operation:

Beaufort County
Mid-Atlantic Safety Council
2871 Highway 17 South

Hyde County
Hyde County Dept. of Social Services
1430 Main St.
Swan Quarter

Craven County
Former Eckerd Drug Store
710 Degraffenreid Ave.
New Bern


Dare County
Dare County Center
950 Marshall C. Collins Drive

Halifax County
Agriculture Building
359 Ferrell Lane

Pamlico County
Grantsboro Town Hall
10628 Highway 55

Pamlico County
Goose Creek Community Center
51 Hobucken School Road
(Closes Oct. 14)

Pitt County
Agricultural Extension Center
403 Government Circle
(Closes Oct. 14)

Tyrrell County
Tyrrell Hall
906 Highway 64 East

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: