Disaster Assistance Now Available in Three More North Carolina Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
October 8, 2011
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Three additional counties – Bladen, Columbus and Sampson -- have been designated for disaster assistance to individuals and families as part of North Carolina’s presidential disaster declaration in the wake of Hurricane Irene, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Disaster assistance is now available for survivors in 38 counties across eastern North Carolina.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Also, low-interest loans from the Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

People in the newly designated counties who sustained disaster-related losses may apply for assistance by calling FEMA’s toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY at 800-462-7585.  The toll-free telephone numbers operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Help is available in most languages.

An application may also be completed online by going to www.DisasterAssistance.gov.

Survivors can also apply for federal assistance directly through tablet devices or smartphones at m.fema.gov.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top