New Hours for State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers

Main Content
Release date: 
October 7, 2011
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, PR -- Government of Puerto Rico and federal officials announced today, that State/Federal Disaster Recovery Centers will change their operating hours starting Monday, October 10, 2011. The centers will now be available Monday through Friday, from 7:00 am to 6:00 p.m. On Saturdays, the Centers will work from 8:00 am to 1:00 pm and will remain closed on Sundays.

Centers will remain open on Monday, October 10 and Wednesday, October 12 (Columbus Day Holiday) on their regular hours.  

Partnering with State and Municipal governments, the centers provide those who have applied for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) an opportunity to talk face-to-face with experienced personnel about: state and federal disaster assistance programs, voluntary agencies disaster assistance available, crisis counseling, and preventive measures to mitigate future damages to property and life.

Survivors of Hurricane Irene should apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), accessing, or via mobile phone application

On August 27, 2011, President Obama granted a federal disaster declaration making individuals and families affected by Hurricane Irene in Adjuntas, Aguas Buenas, Arroyo, Caguas, Canóvanas, Carolina, Cayey, Ciales, Cidra, Coamo, Comerío, Fajardo, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Humacao, Jayuya, Juncos, Las Piedras, Loíza, Luquillo, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, Ponce, Río Grande, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Trujillo Alto, Vega Baja, Vieques, and Villalba, eligible to apply for disaster assistance.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and  first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top