Fulton County Now Eligible for Individual Assistance (IA) and Schoharie County Eligible for Public Assistance (PA)

Main Content
Release date: 
October 7, 2011
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. - State and federal officials have announced that two additional counties are now eligible to receive disaster assistance designed to help affected individuals and local governments recover from the effects of the recent flooding caused by Tropical Storm Lee.

Individual Assistance (IA) is now available in Fulton County and storm survivors may apply for temporary housing assistance and housing repair; U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for individuals, renters and businesses to repair or replace damaged property; disaster unemployment assistance; grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs. 

Counties previously declared for IA include Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Oneida, Orange, Otsego, Schenectady, Tioga and Ulster counties. 

Public Assistance (PA) is now available in Schoharie County.

FEMA’s public assistance program reimburses local governments, state agencies, and certain private non-profits for 75 percent of the approved costs. Work may include the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities including:

  • Public roads and bridges not on the Federal Aid System;
  • Public water control facilities including dams and drainage channels;
  • Public utilities such as water treatment and sewage treatment and electrical;
  • Public buildings such as police and fire stations, libraries and public office buildings, including their vehicles and contents; and
  • Public parks and recreation facilities including playgrounds, swimming pools, tennis courts, golf courses, ball fields, and boat ramps.

Counties previously declared for PA include Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Orange, Otsego, Tioga, Tompkins and Ulster counties. 

Tropical Storm Lee survivors should register for disaster assistance as soon as possible by calling the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621- 3362, TTY 1-800-462-7585.  Multilingual assistance is available by phone. The toll-free line is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, seven days a week until further notice.  Applicants can also register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or with a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at m.fema.gov . Follow the link to "apply online for federal assistance."

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top