Main Content

Four New Public Assistance Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
October 5, 2011
Release Number: 

HARRISBURG, Pa. -- Four new counties are added to the President's disaster declaration for Hurricane Irene, for damage that occurred during the period August 26-30, 2011.  The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (PEMA) announced that Bucks, Lehigh, Monroe and Montgomery Counties have been designated for Public Assistance for emergency work and the repair and replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

The designation makes it possible for the Commonwealth, local governments and certain private non-profit organizations to apply for federal funds. Examples of eligible private nonprofit facilities are cooperative electric and water utilities, custodial care and medical organizations and educational institutions.

Approved Public Assistance projects are paid through and administered by the Commonwealth from funding provided by FEMA. Public Assistance is a 75/25 percent cost-share reimbursement program.

This brings the total number of counties designated under Hurricane Irene for Public Assistance to 14, which includes Chester, Delaware, Luzerne, Northampton, Philadelphia, Pike, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Wayne and Wyoming. All Commonwealth counties are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program-a program to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: