Main Content

Three Additional Counties Now Eligible for Individual Assistance and One County for Public Assistance for Tropical Storm Lee

Main Content
Release date: 
October 4, 2011
Release Number: 

ALBANY, N.Y. -- State and federal officials have announced that three additional counties are now eligible to receive disaster assistance designed to help affected individuals and local governments recover from the effects of the recent flooding caused by Tropical Storm Lee.

Individual Assistance (IA) is now available in Oneida, Orange and Ulster counties. Storm survivors in these counties may apply for temporary housing assistance and housing repair; U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for individuals, renters and businesses to repair or replace damaged property; disaster unemployment assistance; grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs. 

Counties previously declared for IA include Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Otsego, Schenectady and Tioga counties

Public Assistance (PA) is now available in Ulster County.

FEMA’s public assistance program reimburses local government, state agencies, and certain private non-profits for 75 percent of the approved costs. Work may include the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities including:

  • Public roads and bridges not on the Federal Aid System;
  • Public water control facilities including dams and drainage channels;
  • Public utilities such as water treatment and sewage treatment and electrical;
  • Public buildings such as police and fire stations, libraries and public office buildings, including their vehicles and contents; and
  • Public parks and recreation facilities including playgrounds, swimming pools, tennis courts, golf courses, ball fields, and boat ramps.

Counties previously declared for PA include Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Orange, Otsego, Tioga, and Tompkins counties.  

Tropical Storm Lee survivors should register for disaster assistance as soon as possible by calling the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621- 3362. The toll-free line is open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, seven days a week until further notice. People with speech disabilities can use the TTY number, 800-462-7585. Applicants can also register online at or with any web-enabled mobile device or smartphone at Follow the link to "apply online for federal assistance."

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top