Main Content

FEMA Registration Deadline Extended to Nov. 10

Main Content
Release date: 
October 4, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- At the request of Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon, the Federal Emergency Management Agency has extended the deadline for renters, homeowners and business owners who suffered damage from flooding to register for state and federal disaster assistance. Residents of the following six Missouri counties are eligible to register for disaster assistance: Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt, Lafayette, and Platte.

The new deadline is Nov. 10, 2011.

"Please use the extended deadline to settle any outstanding insurance claims and get that information to FEMA,” FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Karl said. “We also request that those who have registered please contact FEMA with address changes if they have relocated since registration."

Registration may be completed online at, by Smartphone through, or by calling FEMA’s toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).  If the applicant has a speech disability or hearing loss and uses a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585 directly; if the applicant uses 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.  Multi-language assistance is available. Telephone registration is available daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., until further notice.  Assistance to individuals can include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, essential home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance or other sources.

Applicants are reminded to keep their FEMA information updated, but not to register twice. Duplicate registrations will delay processing an application.

The U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) also extended the deadline to submit disaster loan applications to Nov. 10, 2011.  SBA offers low-interest federal disaster loans to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private, nonprofit organizations to help pay for, repair or replace disaster damaged property.  Loan amounts for disaster damaged property may be up to $200,000 for a primary residence, $40,000 for personal property and $2 million for business assets.  Interest rates may be as low as 2.688 percent for homeowners and renters, 3 percent for nonprofit organizations and 4 percent for businesses.

Homeowners and renters should submit their SBA disaster loan application, even if they are not sure if they will need or want a loan. If SBA cannot approve their application, in most cases they refer the applicant to FEMA’s Other Needs Assistance (ONA) program for possible additional assistance.

Small businesses and most private, nonprofit organizations may apply for SBA loans of up to $2 million to help meet disaster caused working capital needs. These working capital loans are available regardless of whether the business suffered any property damage.

SBA representatives are at the Disaster Recovery Centers to issue loan applications, answer questions about SBA’s disaster loan program, explain the application process, and help each individual complete their application.  Applicants may apply online via SBA’s secure Web site at  SBA information and assistance is also available by calling SBA at (800) 659-2955, emailing, or on SBA’s Web site  Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call (800) 877-8339.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cov...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: