Main Content

Six Municipalities Added to Puerto Rico Disaster Declaration for Hurricane Irene

Release date: 
September 28, 2011
Release Number: 

SAN JUAN, PR -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Government of Puerto Rico officials announced today that additional municipalities are eligible under the presidential disaster declaration of August 27, 2011. The disaster declaration was granted due to the rains, flooding, mudslides, and landslides caused by Hurricane Irene.

Under the President’s action three additional municipalities are now eligible for the Individual Assistance program Adjuntas, Ciales and Guaynabo. Individual Assistance can include grants for temporary housing, home repairs and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

In addition, the municipalities of Peñuelas, Loíza and San Juan were designated eligible for the Public Assistance (Infrastructure) Program which may fund measures taken during the emergency on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal and emergency work, and the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by Hurricane Irene.

Low interest rate federal disaster loans are available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations through the Small Business Administration (SBA). Loans amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial condition.

Eligible individuals, families and businesses may apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) or via Internet at, or via phone application

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: