Main Content

More Texans Can Apply For State/FEMA Wildfire Recovery Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 28, 2011
Release Number: 

AUSTIN, Texas – Wildfire survivors in six more Texas counties — Anderson, Caldwell, Fayette, Henderson, Hill and Rusk — can now apply for state and federal recovery assistance, as those counties were added Wednesday to the state’s Sept. 9 presidential disaster declaration.

The Texas Division of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) urge homeowners, renters and business owners in the newly designated counties to register with FEMA as soon as possible. The application process is simple, but crucial, as FEMA may provide assistance that can address specific needs.

“Getting assistance to eligible Texans in all 22 counties affected by the wildfires is our top priority,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Kevin L. Hannes of FEMA. “The sooner survivors register with FEMA the sooner we can determine how we might be able to assist them.”

Counties previously designated for Individual Assistance in areas affected by wildfires beginning August 30 and continuing are Bastrop, Cass, Colorado, Gregg, Grimes, Harrison, Houston, Leon, Marion, Montgomery, Smith, Travis, Upshur, Walker, Waller and Williamson.

Three counties — Colorado, Leon and Walker — were also added to the declaration Wednesday for supplementary funding under FEMA’s Public Assistance program, which reimburses the state, its agencies, local governments and certain nonprofit organizations for eligible costs to protect lives and property, clean up disaster-affected communities and repair infrastructure.

Aid under the Individual Assistance program may include grants to survivors that help pay for temporary housing, emergency home repairs or other serious disaster-related expenses, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs, that are not covered by insurance.

Low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses may also be available from the U.S. Small Business Administration that compensate for losses incurred during the disaster that are not fully covered by insurance or grants.

Survivors in all 22 counties can register for assistance online at, via smart phone at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services can call 1-800-621-3362. Operators are available by phone from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. seven days a week. 

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.  Follow us on Twitter at!/femaregion6, the R6 Hurricane Preparedness website at and the FEMA Blog at

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top